What is the syllabus for the SSC CGL Exam?

If you are an SSC CGL aspirant or want to be, it is of primary importance to know the syllabus of the entire exam. Having the entire syllabus and pattern in mind would enable you with better SSC CGL exam preparation, and do better.

The SSC selects for the post of combined graduate level through this exam. The recruitment process happens in four tiers.

Tier Type Exam Mode
Tier-1 Objective CBT
Tier-2 Objective CBT
Tier-3 Descriptive (Hindi/English) Pen and Paper
Tier-4 Skill Test/ Computer Proficiency test Wherever applicable

(typing speed test)

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier-1

The Tier-1 exam of SSC CGL exam pattern consists of a total of 100 questions. The paper is of maximum 200 marks. It has four segments that carry 50 marks each with 25 questions in total. The entire exam is for 60 minutes. The sections are-

∙         General knowledge

∙         Quantitative aptitude

∙         General reasoning

∙         English comprehension

Each wrong question carries a negative marking of 0.50.

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier-2

The tier-2 exam of SSC CGL is also divided into four sections. Each section comprises 100 questions with 200 marks in total. The entire Tier-2 is of 800 marks and the time conducted for the computer-based exam is 8 hours. The sections are-

∙         Paper 1- Quantitative ability

∙         Paper 2- English language and comprehension

∙         Paper 3- Statistics

∙         Paper 4- General studies

Visit The website bettwoo and myfeedster More Information telegram

Paper 2 carries 0.25 negative marking, and paper 1, 3, and 4 carries 0.50 negative marking for each wrong question.

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier-3

The Tier-3 is a descriptive paper of SSC CGL. Candidates who qualify for the Tier-2 exam will appear for Tier 3. This particular exam is a descriptive paper and conducted offline. It means the writing mode is pen and paper. The time frame for this is 60 minutes. The questions of the exam are of 100 marks. The exam is divided into the following sections-

∙         Essay

∙         Precis

∙         Letter

∙         Application etc.

There are two language options available. You can write either in Hindi or in English. However, the mixing of both languages is highly prohibited. This paper is conducted to test the writing skills of the appearing candidates.

As the paper is descriptive, no negative marking is involved.

N.B- it is mandatory for candidates to score a minimum of 33% for this descriptive Tier-3 paper.

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier-4

The SSC CGL is for candidates who have qualified for the Tier-3. The tier-4 exam is divided into two steps as follows-

∙         DEST (skill test in data entry)

∙         CPT (computer proficiency test)



If you are an aspirant, you better start improving your typing speed. The candidate will need to type 2000 words in only 15 minutes. You will be provided with an article which you would have to type on the computer. Checking the typing speed of the candidate is the only goal of this section. It is tested for the post of Tax Assistant (Central Excise and Income Tax).


The Computer Proficiency Test is conducted to test the proficiency of the candidate in word processing, generation of slides, and spreadsheets. These three areas are analyzed by the Staff Selection Commission for posts like Inspector (examiner), Inspector (Preventive Officer), Inspector (central excise), MEA, and CSS.

It is not hard to qualify for the Tier 4 exam of SSC CGL if you put in a little effort and practice. Remember, you need to qualify for Tier 4 along with good scores in Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3.

Stay Connect with our education blogs India for further updates.

SEO Guest post more effective to rank google. You may share your blog on imeetzu and news blog newsxpres. Also put your sport related blog on sportsgossip.

To know more Information: meetyou

Read more about this website: chatrad

You should visit this site: newsinsightz

Leave a Reply

Back to top button